Top Winter Wheat, Oat Producing Counties of 2015 Determined

New estimates by the USDA give us an indication of what counties produced the most winter wheat and oat crops during the past growing season. The agency says Dane County was the largest winter wheat producing county in Wisconsin in 2015 with about 1.16 million bushels. The area has been in the top three counties in the state for production since estimates began in 1966. Dodge and Manitowoc were second and third this year; with east central Wisconsin being the largest wheat producing district.

The highest yielding county was Ozaukee County with a yield of 85.3 bushels per acre. Sheboygan and Racine Counties had the next two highest yields. Marquette County had the lowest yield at 48.7 bushels per acre.

Adams and Iowa Counties had the greatest decreases in yield from the previous year, which were down 9.8 and 5.3 bushels per acre, respectively.

In 2015, Langlade County was the largest oat-producing county with 978,000 bushels. Manitowoc was second with 904,000 bushels produced.

The department says favorable conditions across the state resulted in higher oat yields for all districts in 2015, with only a few counties reporting lower yields than last year. The highest yielding county was Washington with a yield of 99.0, which is 17.1 bushels per acre above the high in 2014.

Source:  Wisconsin Ag Connection